Best phosphatidylserine supplement

James BevanJames BevanUpdated Oct 21, 2026
Nutricost Phosphatidylserine soy-free 120 capsules bottle, official product image

Phosphatidylserine, or PS, turns up in just over half of the brain supplements we've audited, and it's also sold on its own as a capsule. But do the stacks give you the amount the studies used, and is a single capsule the better buy? To find out, we've checked every phosphatidylserine product we've audited against the studies, worked out what each costs a day, and picked the capsule we'd buy.

Quick verdict

Nutricost Phosphatidylserine (Soy Free) 400 mg

The one we'd buy. Three capsules give the trials' usual 300 mg of PS for 67 cents a day, with no lab report.

Price per day
$0.67
Capsules a day
3
Dose per capsule
100 mg
Form
From sunflower lecithin
Evidence
Moderate
Capsules per bottle
120
Against the studies
Within range

Runner-upNOW Foods Phosphatidyl Serine Extra Strength 300 mg SoftgelsAudit rating 8.0/10$1.30 a day4.4/5 from 547 Amazon buyers

Check price

How we rated these We audited eight brain supplements and eight single capsules from their labels and published lab reports, weighting dose fit at 40%, evidence 30%, transparency 20% and testing 10%. Every price is a US price. Audited Oct 21, 2026 How we audit We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

In this guide

What our audit found

We checked eight brain supplements and eight single capsules that contain phosphatidylserine, and these five findings matter most if you're buying.

  • Most stacks give a third of the studied dose

    Five of the eight give 100 mg (Mind Lab Pro, Qualia Mind, Hunter Focus, NeuroQ and BrainPill), a third of the 300 mg a day most of the trials used.124

  • Four stacks don't say where their PS comes from

    NeuroQ, BrainPill and Alpha Brain print no source, and Hunter Focus prints no form at all.

  • Three labels don't give you the PS figure

    Double Wood's "300 mg, standardized to 20%" is 300 mg of soy extract, and the maker's own lot report measured 65.5 mg of PS a serving.8 Transparent Labs prints 200 mg of SerinAid at 70%, which is 140 mg of PS. Alpha Brain Black Label prints 200 mg from SerinAid without saying which of the two it means, so we can't confirm its PS.

  • Most single capsules hold 100 mg

    Five of the eight single capsules give 100 or 150 mg of PS a serving, so you'd take two or three a day to reach 300 mg.1213141516 Only Nutricost's four-capsule serving and NOW's 300 mg softgel get there as printed.1011

  • The best trial used a form you can't buy

    The clearest result came from bovine-cortex PS, which is no longer sold.1 Of the soy trials, one found nothing at 300 or 600 mg, and in another the placebo group improved as much overall.23

Best phosphatidylserine supplements

Nutricost's capsules hold 100 mg of sunflower PS each, so three give the 300 mg most trials used, and they're the ones we'd choose, though Nutricost publishes no lab report. NOW's soy softgel holds 300 mg in one, also with no lab report.

Nutricost Phosphatidylserine (Soy Free) 400 mg

Nutricost

4.5/5 from 1,318 Amazon buyers

Sunflower PS at 100 mg a capsule, so three give 300 mg for 67 cents. It publishes no lab report.

400 mg per servingFrom sunflower lecithinAbove the range
300 mg a day
3 capsules, $0.67 a day
Testing
None published
Refund
60 days, money back minus shipping
Capsule
Hypromellose (cellulose)
  • Dose fit 40%Dose fit 100
  • Evidence 30%Evidence 70

    Phosphatidylserine's evidence grade is moderate.

  • Transparency 20%Transparency 95

    Dose and form printed in full. Five points come off because we read the label online, not on a bottle we bought.

  • Testing 10%Testing 0

    No lab report is published.

Soy PS at 300 mg in one softgel, for $1.30. It publishes no lab report.

300 mg per capsuleSoyWithin range
300 mg a day
1 capsule, $1.30 a day
Testing
None published
Refund
30 days, new and unopened items only
Capsule
Softgel, bovine gelatin
  • Dose fit 40%Dose fit 100
  • Evidence 30%Evidence 70

    Phosphatidylserine's evidence grade is moderate.

  • Transparency 20%Transparency 95

    Dose and form printed in full. Five points come off because we read the label online, not on a bottle we bought.

  • Testing 10%Testing 0

    No lab report is published.

We also audited Double Wood Phosphatidylserine and don't recommend it. It scores 3.9 out of 10, because its label's 300 mg is a soy extract standardized to 20%, and the maker's lot report measured 65.5 mg of PS a serving.8

We also audited five capsules with 100 or 150 mg of PS a serving, a third or half of the 300 mg the trials used, so none makes the picks. Thorne Phosphatidylserine scores 4.9 out of 10, Nootropics Depot Smart PS 4.9, Jarrow PS 100 3.8, Doctor's Best Phosphatidylserine 3.8 and NOW's soy-free capsule 5.0.1213141516

Phosphatidylserine in brain supplements

This table ranks the audited brain supplements that contain phosphatidylserine, with the amount each one gives, its form, and what each formula costs for the studied floor.

Brain supplements we've audited that contain phosphatidylserine

Transparent Labs Cognition

SerinAid (200 mg at 70% phosphatidylserine)

Audit rating 7.8/10
140 mg a serving160 mg short

$3.57 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

4.9/5 from 66 buyers (brand site)
Mind Lab Pro

from sunflower lecithin

Audit rating 5.5/10
100 mg a serving200 mg short

$6.90 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

4.0/5 from 1,241 Amazon buyers
Alpha BRAIN Black Label

SerinAid, 200 mg on the label, not confirmed as PS

Audit rating 5.5/10
200 mg a servingPS amount not confirmed

Not comparable

4.2/5 from 1,305 Amazon buyers
NeuroQ Memory & Focus Extra Strength

source not stated

Audit rating 4.9/10
100 mg a serving200 mg short

$8.00 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

4.4/5 from 462 Amazon buyers
Qualia Mind

sunflower lecithin

Audit rating 4.8/10
100 mg a serving200 mg short

$23.85 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

4.1/5 from 94 Amazon buyers
BrainPill

source not stated

Audit rating 4.4/10
100 mg a serving200 mg short

$7.00 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

Hunter Focus

Not stated

Audit rating 4.3/10
100 mg a serving200 mg short

$9.00 of the stack per 300 mg of phosphatidylserine

3.5/5 from 16 Amazon buyers
Alpha Brain

Not stated

Audit rating 3.7/10
In a blend, amount not printedNot credited

No amount to price

4.1/5 from 73,591 Amazon buyers

Each cost is the brain supplement's full daily price, scaled to 300 mg of phosphatidylserine as a fraction of a serving, not a dose to take. It doesn't tell you what the PS alone costs. If PS is why you're buying, three Nutricost capsules give you 300 mg for 67 cents.10 NOW's softgel has all 300 mg in one, for $1.30.11 Double Wood's capsules are listed under NSF/ANSI 173, but the listing names the label's 300 mg, and the maker's lot report puts the PS at 65.5 mg a serving.98

Is phosphatidylserine worth buying, and who it suits

Phosphatidylserine is worth considering only if you're older and have noticed memory slips. The trials that found a benefit ran 12 to 15 weeks at 300 mg a day, and even then it's a weak bet for memory. The best result used a bovine form you can't buy, and the soy trials found no clear benefit over placebo.123

Phosphatidylserine, or PS, is a fat found in cell membranes and made from soy or sunflower lecithin for supplements.

FDA permits a qualified health claim for PS, but requires a warning that the research is very limited and preliminary. Its wording is "there is little scientific evidence supporting this claim".7

PS-DHA joins PS to the omega-3 fat DHA. In a 15-week trial, 300 mg a day improved immediate verbal recall, with more gains in people who already scored well.4 Most bottles contain soy or sunflower PS, which is a different material.

It suits an older adult with memory complaints who wants to try a supplement with a long safety record and can judge it on something concrete after three months. It doesn't suit someone looking for a quick effect, because no trial here tested one.

Double Wood's label says not to take PS if you're pregnant, nursing or under 18.8 For the full regulatory view, FDA's qualified health claim letter for phosphatidylserine is the most complete public assessment, and it concludes there's little scientific evidence for the claim.7

How much to take, and when

The trials tell you how much phosphatidylserine to look for on a label, and how long they gave it.

Study dose benchmark
300 mg a day
Most-studied dose
300 mg a day, usually 100 mg three times a day
Length of the trials that found a benefit
12 to 15 weeks

Most trials used 300 mg a day. The bovine trial split that into 100 mg three times a day.124 The only 100 mg arm was in Kato-Kataoka 2010, and it didn't beat placebo overall, so we check every label against 300 mg.3

The trials that found a benefit lasted 12 to 15 weeks.14 Soy PS at 300 and 600 mg a day for 12 weeks showed no safety problems in older adults.6

What the trials found

Our evidence grade for phosphatidylserine rests on the human trials, the positive ones and the ones that found nothing.

ModerateThe best trial used a bovine form that's no longer sold. The soy trials found no clear benefit over placebo, and FDA calls the evidence very limited and preliminary.

The controlled trials used three different materials, and that matters when you're choosing a bottle.

  • Crook 19911Showed a benefit

    Double-blind, placebo-controlled

    149 people with age-associated memory impairment

    100 mg bovine-cortex PS three times a day for 12 weeks

    Learning and memory tasks of daily life better than placebo. Bovine PS is no longer sold.

  • Jorissen 20012No clear benefit

    Randomized, placebo-controlled

    Older adults with age-associated memory impairment

    300 or 600 mg soy PS a day for 12 weeks

    No significant difference from placebo on any outcome.

  • Vakhapova 20104Showed a benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    157 older adults with memory complaints

    300 mg PS-DHA a day for 15 weeks

    Immediate verbal recall better than placebo, with more in a post-hoc subgroup of better performers. PS-DHA is a different material from soy PS.

  • Kato-Kataoka 20103No clear benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    78 adults aged 50 to 69 with mild cognitive impairment

    100 or 300 mg soy PS a day for 6 months

    Scores rose in every group, placebo included. The subgroup gains were measured against the start, not against placebo.

Crook 1991 is the study most labels rely on, but its result came from bovine-cortex PS.1 When soy PS was tested, Jorissen 2001 found no difference from placebo on any outcome at 300 and 600 mg.2 In Kato-Kataoka 2010, every group improved, including the people taking placebo.3

Another soy study didn't have a placebo group.

  • Richter 20135No clear benefit

    Open-label pilot, no placebo

    30 adults aged 50 to 90 with memory complaints

    300 mg soy PS a day for 12 weeks

    Memory recognition and recall improved from the start, with no placebo group to compare against.

Richter 2013 found improvements in memory measures over 12 weeks. With no placebo group, though, we can't separate those changes from practice and expectation.5

What it's stacked with

These are the ingredients phosphatidylserine most often sits next to in brain supplements, and what the evidence says about each pairing.

In the brain supplements we audited, PS sits next to citicoline, bacopa and lion's mane in the memory formulas. We found no trial of PS with any of them.

Questions people ask

Soy or sunflower phosphatidylserine?
The plant trials in this guide used soy PS, and we found no trial of sunflower PS. Both are made from lecithin, so we credit them the same, and sunflower suits anyone avoiding soy.
Why 100 mg three times a day?
That's how the bovine trial gave its 300 mg, and the soy and PS-DHA trials mostly used 300 mg a day too. No trial compared one daily dose with three split doses.
What is SerinAid?
A branded phosphatidylserine ingredient. Transparent Labs prints 200 mg of SerinAid at 70%, which is 140 mg of PS, so always check whether a label gives the ingredient or the PS.
How long does phosphatidylserine take to work?
The trials that found a benefit ran 12 to 15 weeks. Nothing in them tested a single dose.

Sources

16 sources cited

  1. Crook TH, et al. Effects of phosphatidylserine in age-associated memory impairment. Neurology, 1991. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 2027477
  2. Jorissen BL, et al. The influence of soy-derived phosphatidylserine on cognition in age-associated memory impairment. Nutr Neurosci, 2001. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 11842880
  3. Kato-Kataoka A, et al. Soybean-derived phosphatidylserine improves memory function of the elderly Japanese subjects with memory complaints. J Clin Biochem Nutr, 2010. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 21103034
  4. Vakhapova V, et al. Phosphatidylserine containing omega-3 fatty acids may improve memory abilities in non-demented elderly with memory complaints, a double-blind placebo-controlled trial. Dement Geriatr Cogn Disord, 2010. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 20523044
  5. Richter Y, et al. The effect of soybean-derived phosphatidylserine on cognitive performance in elderly with subjective memory complaints, a pilot study. Clin Interv Aging, 2013. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 23723695
  6. Jorissen BL, et al. Safety of soy-derived phosphatidylserine in elderly people. Nutr Neurosci, 2002. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. PMID 12385596
  7. US Food and Drug Administration. Qualified health claim, final decision letter, phosphatidylserine and cognitive dysfunction and dementia, 2003 (updated 2004). Agreed disclaimer "Very limited and preliminary scientific research suggests... FDA concludes that there is little scientific evidence supporting this claim." Archived copy read. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. FDA letter
  8. Double Wood Supplements. Phosphatidylserine 300 mg, product page, Supplement Facts label, price, refund policy and the maker's lot certificate (lot 2520601, Brand Nutraceuticals, phosphatidylserine 65.5 mg against a 54 to 75 mg specification). Accessed Oct 21, 2026. doublewoodsupplements.com
  9. NSF/ANSI 173 dietary supplement listings, Double Wood. Phosphatidylserine. Accessed Oct 20, 2026. NSF listing
  10. Nutricost. Phosphatidyl Serine (Soy Free) capsules, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. nutricost.com
  11. NOW Foods. Phosphatidyl Serine Extra Strength 300 mg softgels, product page, Supplement Facts label, price and returns policy. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. nowfoods.com
  12. Thorne. Phosphatidylserine, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. thorne.com
  13. Nootropics Depot. Smart PS softgels, product page, Supplement Facts label, price and lot report from Omnient Labs, a lab Nootropics Depot founded. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. nootropicsdepot.com
  14. Jarrow Formulas. PS 100 softgels, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. jarrow.com
  15. Doctor's Best. Phosphatidylserine with SerinAid 100 mg, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. doctorsbest.com
  16. NOW Foods. Phosphatidyl Serine Soy-Free 150 mg veg capsules, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. nowfoods.com

Top Rated Nootropics is an independent research and review platform. We are passionate supplement researchers, not medical professionals. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting any supplement regimen. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.