Best huperzine A supplement

James BevanJames BevanUpdated Oct 28, 2026
Horbäach Huperzine A 400 mcg per serving, 180 capsules bottle, official product image

Huperzine A is a compound from a club moss sold for memory, and it comes as a tiny 200 mcg capsule. But does the capsule hold the amount on the label, and does it do anything for a memory that's fine? To find out, we've checked every huperzine A supplement we've audited against the studies, worked out what each costs a day, and picked the one we'd buy.

Quick verdict

Our scientific audit

8.0/ 10

Buyer rating

9.2/ 10

Horbäach Huperzine A 400 mcg

The one we'd buy. Two capsules a day, as the label says, give the trials' 400 mcg for 23 cents a day.

  • Price per day$0.23
  • Capsules a day2
  • Dose per capsule0.2 mg
  • FormHuperzia serrata whole herb extract
  • Capsules per bottle180
  • Against the studiesWithin range

Runner-upLife Extension Huperzine A 200 mcg$0.98 a day

Scientific auditScientific audit 8.0/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.2/10Check price

How we rated these We audited nine brain supplements and seven single capsules from their labels and published lab reports, weighting dose fit at 40%, evidence 30%, transparency 20% and testing 10%. Every price is a US price. Audited Oct 23, 2026 How we audit We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

In this guide

What our audit found

We checked every huperzine A capsule and stack we've audited, and these are the five things that matter most if you're choosing one.

  • Look for a lab report that measures the huperzine A

    A 2020 study of 22 US products that listed huperzine A, most of them brain blends, found only two within 10% of the label, and many held stimulants the label didn't list.9 Nootropics Depot's lot report measured 220 mcg in a 200 mcg capsule, from a lab the brand set up.1112 Double Wood's independent report says its tablet conforms without printing a figure, and the maker's own sheet measured 187 mcg.1415 Horbäach, Life Extension, Nutricost, Source Naturals and Swanson publish no report.2116171819

  • Most labels stop at half the studied amount

    All seven singles we audited are labeled 200 mcg a capsule or tablet, and the Alzheimer's trials that found gains gave 400 mcg a day.1012 Five of those seven labels say one a day, so they stop at half. Life Extension's label says one capsule up to four times a day, and Horbäach's serving is two capsules, so both reach 400 mcg.1621

  • The trials gave 400 mcg a day, which Xu 1995 split in two

    Xu 1995 gave 200 mcg twice a day, and Zhang 2002 gave 400 mcg a day.12 In the US trial, 200 mcg twice a day missed its main measure and 400 mcg twice a day did better on some secondary ones.3 We check labels against 400 mcg a day.

  • The gains were in Alzheimer's, not in a healthy memory

    Most of the trials that found gains were small Chinese studies in people with Alzheimer's, which a 2013 review rated mostly at high risk of bias, and one was in Chinese students who complained of poor memory.1274 The one US Alzheimer's trial missed its main measure, and two single-dose trials in healthy US adults found nothing.356

  • If your stack has huperzine A, check the amount

    Alpha Brain and Brainol give 400 mcg. Transparent Labs Cognition gives 300 mcg, NeuroQ and Alpha Brain Black Label 200, Brain & Body Power and Genius Consciousness 100, and BrainPill 50. Neuro-Peak prints 0.5 mg of the plant extract without the huperzine A in it.

Best huperzine A supplements

Horbäach's serving is two capsules with 400 mcg between them, the trials' daily amount, for 23 cents a day, and it's the one we'd choose, though it publishes no lab report. Life Extension's capsule holds 200 mcg, and its label says one up to four times a day, so two reach 400 mcg for 98 cents, also with no report. Nootropics Depot's lot report measured 220 mcg in a 200 mcg capsule, from a lab the brand founded, but its label says one a day, half the trials' amount.

Scientific auditScientific audit 8.0/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.2/10

400 mcg in a two-capsule serving, from Huperzia serrata extract, for 23 cents a day. The page says it's lab tested but links no report.

0.4 mg per servingHuperzia serrata whole herb extractWithin range
0.4 mg a day
2 capsules, $0.23 a day
Testing
None published
Refund
30 days, full refund
Capsule
Gelatin
  • Dose fit 40%Dose fit 100
  • Evidence 30%Evidence 70

    Huperzine A's evidence grade is moderate.

  • Transparency 20%Transparency 95

    Dose printed in full. Five points come off because we read the label online, not on a bottle we bought.

  • Testing 10%Testing 0

    No lab report is published.

Scientific auditScientific audit 8.0/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.2/10

200 mcg a capsule, and the label says one up to four times a day, so two give 400 mcg for 98 cents. It publishes no lab report.

0.2 mg per capsuleHuperzine A from toothed clubmoss extract (whole herb)Within range
0.4 mg a day
2 capsules, $0.98 a day
Testing
None published
Refund
365 days
Capsule
Vegetarian capsule
  • Dose fit 40%Dose fit 100
  • Evidence 30%Evidence 70

    Huperzine A's evidence grade is moderate.

  • Transparency 20%Transparency 95

    Dose printed in full. Five points come off because we read the label online, not on a bottle we bought.

  • Testing 10%Testing 0

    No lab report is published.

Scientific auditScientific audit 6.0/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.4/10

Labeled 200 mcg a capsule, for 21 cents, and the label says one a day, half the trials' 400 mcg. The latest lot report measured 220 mcg a capsule by HPLC, from a lab the brand set up.

0.2 mg per capsule0.2 mg short
0.2 mg a day
1 capsule, $0.21 a day
Testing
A lot report with the huperzine A measured, from a lab the brand founded
Refund
Unopened bottles only, within 30 days of delivery
Capsule
Vegetable cellulose
  • Dose fit 40%Dose fit 50

    One capsule, the most the label says to take, gives half the 400 mcg a day the trials used.

  • Evidence 30%Evidence 35

    Huperzine A's grade is moderate, credited at half because the label's one capsule gives half the studied amount.

  • Transparency 20%Transparency 95

    Dose printed in full. Five points come off because we read the label online, not on a bottle we bought.

  • Testing 10%Testing 100

We also audited four other huperzine A capsules and tablets and don't recommend them as picks, because each label stops at one 200 mcg serving a day, half the studied amount, and only Double Wood publishes an independent report. Double Wood scores 5.7 out of 10, Nutricost 5.0, Source Naturals 5.0 and Swanson 5.0.13171819

Huperzine A in brain supplements

The table ranks the brain supplements we've audited that contain huperzine A by audit rating, with the amount each one prints and what the formula costs for 400 mcg of huperzine A.

Brain supplements we've audited that contain huperzine A

Transparent Labs Cognition

From Huperzia serrata leaf

Scientific auditScientific audit 7.8/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.7/10
0.3 mg a serving0.1 mg short

$2.22 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

Alpha BRAIN Black Label

20 mg of a 1% Huperzia serrata extract

Scientific auditScientific audit 5.5/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.4/10
0.2 mg a serving0.2 mg short

$12.50 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

NeuroQ Memory & Focus Extra Strength

From Huperzia serrata whole-herb extract

Scientific auditScientific audit 4.9/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.8/10
0.2 mg a serving0.2 mg short

$5.33 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

Genius Consciousness

10 mg of a 1% Huperzia serrata extract

Scientific auditScientific audit 4.8/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.4/10
0.1 mg a serving0.3 mg short

$10.13 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

BrainPill

5 mg of a 1% Huperzia serrata extract

Scientific auditScientific audit 4.4/10Buyer ratingN/A
0.05 mg a serving0.35 mg short

$18.65 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

Neuro-Peak

Printed as Huperzine serrata 0.5 mg, huperzine A content not stated, 0.5 mg is the plant extract's weight, and the huperzine A in it isn't printed

Scientific auditScientific audit 4.2/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.0/10
Not statedAmount not stated

Not comparable

Brain & Body Power

From Huperzia serrata aerial extract

Scientific auditScientific audit 4.1/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 9.4/10
0.1 mg a serving0.3 mg short

$14.66 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

Alpha Brain

From toothed clubmoss, 1% huperzine A

Scientific auditScientific audit 3.7/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.2/10
0.4 mg a servingWithin range

$1.78 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

Brainol

Huperzine A

Scientific auditScientific audit 3.5/10Buyer ratingBuyer rating 8.0/10
0.4 mg a servingWithin range

$2.00 of the stack per 0.4 mg of huperzine A

The cost column scales each formula's full daily price to 400 mcg of huperzine A, which can be more than a serving holds, so it isn't a dose to take or what the huperzine A alone costs.

If huperzine A is why you're buying, two Horbäach capsules give the trials' 400 mcg for 23 cents a day, and two Life Extension capsules cost 98 cents, though neither publishes a lab report.2116 Nootropics Depot's does, but its label stops at one 200 mcg capsule a day.1011

Is huperzine A worth buying, and who it suits

We wouldn't buy huperzine A for a healthy memory. The trials that found gains were mostly small Chinese studies in people with Alzheimer's, the one US trial missed its main measure, and healthy adults showed nothing.12356

Rafii 2011 gave 210 adults with mild to moderate Alzheimer's 200 or 400 mcg twice a day for 16 weeks. The lower dose did no better than placebo on the ADAS-Cog scale, the trial's main measure, and the higher one did better on some secondary measures.3 It's the only placebo-controlled Alzheimer's trial we found from outside China.

The one positive trial in young people, Sun 1999, gave 100 mcg twice a day to Chinese students who complained of poor memory, and their memory scores rose against placebo.4 Nootropics Expert's page, published in October 2025, says huperzine A works "at any age", but the two trials in healthy adults found no gain.2056

Huperzine A comes from a club moss, as Life Extension's label puts it, and slows the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine, which is why it was tested in Alzheimer's.1657

It doesn't suit you as a memory supplement when your memory is fine. If you've decided to try it, look for a label whose recommended amount reaches the trials' 400 mcg a day. Horbäach's two-capsule serving gives it, and Life Extension's one capsule up to four times a day covers it, though neither publishes a lab report to show the capsules hold what they say.

Swanson's label cautions against using it with cholinesterase inhibitors such as donepezil, and Source Naturals' warning adds other drugs that act on acetylcholine.1918 In the US trial, 11% stopped because of side effects, mostly nausea, and a 2013 review found slow heart rate reported in two of its 20 trials.37 If you take a prescription medicine, ask your doctor or pharmacist before you try it.

How much to take, and when

Here's what the trials gave, and how it maps onto capsules.

Study dose benchmark
0.4 mg a day
Doses in the adult trials with a benefit
0.4 mg to 0.8 mg a day
Dose in the trials that found a benefit
400 mcg a day in the Alzheimer's trials, split twice a day in Xu 1995, and 200 mcg a day in one trial of students
Length of those trials
8 to 12 weeks, and 4 weeks in one trial of students

The Alzheimer's trials that found gains gave 400 mcg a day, which Xu 1995 split into 200 mcg twice a day, and that's the amount we check labels against.12 Rafii 2011 also tested 800 mcg a day, and the student trial gave 200 mcg a day.34

Horbäach's two-capsule serving gives 400 mcg, and Life Extension's label says one 200 mcg capsule up to four times a day, so two match what Xu 1995 gave as 200 mcg twice a day.2116 The other singles we audited stop at one 200 mcg serving a day.

Many guides tell you to cycle it, five days on and two off or a few weeks on and one off, but none we read cites a trial for that. The trials gave it every day for 4 to 16 weeks.1234

What the trials found

Huperzine A's controlled trials are mostly small and from China, and the few run elsewhere found little.

ModerateChinese trials in Alzheimer's found gains at 400 mcg a day, but the one US trial missed its main measure. In healthy adults, two single-dose trials found nothing.

In Alzheimer's, the Chinese trials found gains and the US trial didn't on its main measure.123

  • Xu 19951Showed a benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 8 weeks, several centers in China

    103 people with Alzheimer's

    200 mcg twice a day

    58% improved against 36% on placebo, across memory, thinking and behavior scales.

  • Zhang 20022Showed a benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 12 weeks, 15 centers in China

    202 people with mild to moderate Alzheimer's

    400 mcg a day

    56% gained 4 or more points on the ADAS-Cog scale against 12.5% on placebo.

  • Rafii 20113No clear benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 16 weeks, US

    210 adults aged 50 and over with mild to moderate Alzheimer's

    200 or 400 mcg twice a day

    The main ADAS-Cog result at 200 mcg twice a day didn't differ from placebo. The higher dose did better on some secondary measures. 11% stopped because of side effects, mostly nausea.

In younger people without dementia, the one positive trial was in students who said their memory was poor, and the two trials in healthy adults found nothing.456

  • Sun 19994Showed a benefit

    Double-blind, placebo-controlled, matched pairs, 4 weeks, China

    68 secondary school students who complained of poor memory

    100 mcg twice a day

    Memory scores of 115 against 104 in the placebo group.

  • Morasch 20155No clear benefit

    Placebo-controlled, single doses, US

    Healthy young adults, 12 in each group

    One dose of 100 or 200 mcg

    No gain on any test, apart from recall holding steady across sessions. The authors blamed a ceiling effect.

  • Wessinger 20216No clear benefit

    Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover, single dose, US

    15 exercise-trained adults around 30

    One dose of 200 mcg

    No effect on the thinking tests, and exercise felt harder than on placebo.

Two reviews pull it together. Cochrane's 2008 review of six trials found some benefit but only one trial of adequate quality and size, and a 2013 review of 20 trials, all but one from China, rated most of them at high risk of bias.87

What it's stacked with

Huperzine A turns up in the memory formulas, usually next to bacopa or ginkgo. These are its usual neighbors, and what's known about each pairing.

We found no trial of huperzine A with bacopa, ginkgo or alpha-GPC on its own, only reviews and trials of whole formulas.

Questions people ask

How much huperzine A should you take?
The Alzheimer's trials that found gains gave 400 mcg a day, which Xu 1995 split into 200 mcg twice a day, and that's the amount we check labels against. Horbäach's two-capsule serving gives 400 mcg, and Life Extension's label says one 200 mcg capsule up to four times a day, so two reach it. The other singles we audited stop at one 200 mcg serving a day.
Should you cycle huperzine A?
Many guides say to, from five days on and two off to a few weeks on and one off, but none we read cites a trial for it. The trials gave it every day for 4 to 16 weeks.
Does huperzine A help if your memory is fine?
The evidence says probably not. Two single-dose trials in healthy US adults found no gain, and the one positive trial in young people was in Chinese students who said their memory was poor.
Does the capsule hold what the label says?
A 2020 study of 22 US products that listed huperzine A, mostly brain blends, found only two within 10% of the label, and many held stimulants that weren't on it. A lot report that measures the huperzine A is the best check you have.

Sources

21 sources cited

  1. Xu SS, et al. Efficacy of tablet huperzine-A on memory, cognition, and behavior in Alzheimer's disease. Acta Pharmacol Sin, 1995. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 8701750
  2. Zhang Z, et al. Clinical efficacy and safety of huperzine alpha in treatment of mild to moderate Alzheimer disease, a placebo-controlled, double-blind, randomized trial. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2002. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 12181083
  3. Rafii MS, et al. A phase II trial of huperzine A in mild to moderate Alzheimer disease. Neurology, 2011. Abstract and full text read. Supported by the NIH and Neuro-Hitech. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 21502597
  4. Sun QQ, et al. Huperzine-A capsules enhance memory and learning performance in 34 pairs of matched adolescent students. Acta Pharmacol Sin, 1999. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 10678121
  5. Morasch KC, et al. Physiological and neurobehavioral effects of cholinesterase inhibition in healthy adults. Physiol Behav, 2015. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 25455867
  6. Wessinger CM, et al. Effect of huperzine A on cognitive function and perception of effort during exercise, a randomized double-blind crossover trial. Int J Exerc Sci, 2021. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 34567353
  7. Yang G, et al. Huperzine A for Alzheimer's disease, a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials. PLoS One, 2013. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 24086396
  8. Li J, et al. Huperzine A for Alzheimer's disease. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2008. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 18425924
  9. Crawford C, et al. The scoop on brain health dietary supplement products containing huperzine A. Clin Toxicol, 2020. Abstract read. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. PMID 31990212
  10. Nootropics Depot. Huperzine A Capsules 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label, price and returns policy. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. nootropicsdepot.com
  11. Omnient Labs for Nootropics Depot. Certificate of analysis, huperzine A capsules, lot HZBCS1071626, Jul 16, 2026, 0.22 mg a capsule by HPLC. Accessed Oct 20, 2026. Lot report (PDF)
  12. Nootropics Depot. Meet our third party labs. Omnient Labs "was started as an ISO accredited lab to do advanced lab testing for Nootropics Depot." Accessed Oct 19, 2026. nootropicsdepot.com
  13. Double Wood Supplements. Huperzine A 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label, price and refund policy. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. doublewoodsupplements.com
  14. Colmaric Analyticals for Double Wood. Huperzine A, lot 2532200, May 7, 2026, assay by HPLC against 200 mcg a serving, "Conform", no figure printed. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. Lab report (PDF)
  15. Brand Nutraceuticals for Double Wood. Manufacturer's certificate of analysis, huperzine A lot 2608905, Jul 27, 2026, 187 mcg by in-house HPLC. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. Maker's report (PDF)
  16. Life Extension. Huperzine A 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. lifeextension.com
  17. Nutricost. Huperzine A 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. nutricost.com
  18. Source Naturals. Huperzine A 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label and warning, sold out. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. sourcenaturals.com
  19. Swanson. Premium Maximum Strength Huperzine A 200 mcg, product page, Supplement Facts label, caution and price. Accessed Oct 21, 2026. swansonvitamins.com
  20. Nootropics Expert. Huperzine A. Published Oct 1, 2025. Accessed Oct 23, 2026. nootropicsexpert.com
  21. Horbäach. Huperzine A 400 mcg per serving, 180 capsules, product page, Supplement Facts label, directions and price. Accessed Oct 28, 2026. horbaach.com

Top Rated Nootropics is an independent research and review platform. We are passionate supplement researchers, not medical professionals. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting any supplement regimen. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.